Sign In
Skip Navigation LinksSimcoe County > Corporate Communications > County of Simcoe recognizes community champions during the 2016 Newcomer Recognition Awards
Press Release

County of Simcoe recognizes community champions during the 2016 Newcomer Recognition Awards


Midhurst/October 26, 2016 – The County of Simcoe honoured residents, businesses, and organizations during the 2016 Newcomer Recognition Awards on October 20, 2016.

The awards ceremony, in its fourth year, recognizes community leaders and champions who purposefully take action to enhance the lives of newcomers in Simcoe County.

"Many of our newcomers face challenges when they arrive to our region and the Newcomer Recognition Awards is a great way to recognize individuals who help make this transition easier," said Warden Gerry Marshall. "We continue to invest in programs that support newcomers, including the creation and launch of an immigration website, a Library Link project, and ongoing support of the Employment Ontario network to help immigrants find work in Simcoe County."

Award recipients were nominated by their peers in seven categories through an open nomination process. Nomination forms were reviewed by the Simcoe County Newcomer Recognition Awards Steering Committee. This year the awards saw a 150% increase in the number of nominations.

We congratulate the following award recipients:

  • Yukiya Sasagawa - Immigrant Youth
  • Jianwei Wu - Immigrant Artist
  • Image Dental Laboratory - Culturally Diverse Workforce/Welcoming Work Environment
  • St. Angela Merici Catholic School Spanish Club - Multiculturalism through Education (School)
  • Ziad Al Moussawi - Immigrant Mentor
  • Milan Kroupa - Immigrant Entrepreneur
  • Brandy Cericola - Multiculturalism through Education (Educator)
  • Jennifer Armstrong-Lehman and Ruth McDonald - Community Champion

The Newcomer Recognition Awards were developed as a priority of the Simcoe County Local Immigration Partnership. This year's awards ceremony was sponsored by the Royal Bank of Canada, the Simcoe Muskoka Workforce Development Board, CTV2 Barrie, Barrie Public Library, Colibri, Georgian College, Tangle Creek, Social Enterprise for Canada, and many $100 sponsors.

The County of Simcoe is composed of sixteen member municipalities and provides crucial public services to County residents in addition to providing paramedic and social services to the separated cities of Barrie and Orillia. Visit our website at



Allan Greenwood
Director, Corporate Communications 
705-726-9300 ext. 1230
705-794-9301 (mobile)

Joe Mercer
Communications Co-ordinator
705-726-9300 ext. 1035
705-790-9559 (mobile)