Sign In
Skip Navigation LinksSimcoe County > Corporate Communications > Deputy Warden Terry Dowdall re-elected to Federation of Canadian Municipalities Board of Directors
Press Release

Deputy Warden Terry Dowdall re-elected to Federation of Canadian Municipalities Board of Directors


Midhurst/June 6, 2017 – County of Simcoe Deputy Warden Terry Dowdall was re-elected for a second time to the Federation of Canadian Municipalities (FCM) Board of Directors during its annual conference in Ottawa this past weekend.

FCM has been the national voice of municipal governments since 1901. Members include Canada's largest cities, small urban and rural communities, and 20 provincial and territorial municipal associations. Its Board of Directors is comprised of elected municipal officials and affiliate members from all regions and various-sized communities throughout Canada. FCM forms a broad base of support and carries the municipal message to the Government of Canada.

"I look forward to once again working alongside my fellow Ontario delegates on the FCM Board of Directors to ensure every community's voice is heard at the federal level," said Deputy Warden Dowdall, who has more than 17 years of government experience working at both the municipal and regional levels. "My seat on the board affords me the opportunity to champion the issues facing not only the County of Simcoe, but many Canadian municipalities."

Dowdall has forged strong partnerships with representatives from the public and private sectors to advance key inter-municipal initiatives, including infrastructure and development projects, area transportation systems, policing models, housing strategies, and budgetary and funding issues.

"With a national population of just under 36 million, many of which live in smaller municipalities, all levels of government are responsible for a ensuring our country remains healthy, strong and vibrant," said Warden Gerry Marshall.  "Terry's role on the FCM Board of Directors helps us to expand our audience beyond Ontario, to the federal government, which helps us strengthen our communities for the betterment of residents, our county, and our nation."

With Dowdall's representation federally at FCM, Lynn Dollin's representation provincially at the Association of Municipalities Ontario (AMO) and Warden Gerry Marshall's representation at Western Ontario Wardens' Caucus (WOWC), the County is well positioned to influence, share our experiences, and learn of other best practices across the region, the province, and Canada.

The County of Simcoe is composed of sixteen member municipalities and provides crucial public services to County residents, in addition to providing paramedic and social services to the separated cities of Barrie and Orillia. Visit our website at



Allan Greenwood
Director, Corporate Communications 
705-726-9300 ext. 1230
705-794-9301 (mobile)

Collin Matanowitsch
Communications Co-ordinator
705-726-9300 ext. 1430
705-734-8386 (mobile)