Sign In
Skip Navigation LinksSimcoe County > Corporate Communications > Simcoe County represented on 2017 SWIFT Board of Directors
Press Release

Simcoe County represented on 2017 SWIFT Board of Directors


Midhurst/April 18, 2017 – Simcoe County will continue to have a strong voice at the table as the Southwestern Integrated Fibre Technology Inc. (SWIFT) project continues to roll out. County of Simcoe Warden Gerry Marshall was confirmed again as the 2017 Chair during its second annual general meeting on April 7, 2017 at Cisco Canada's Toronto Innovation Centre. Warden Marshall held the roll in 2016. Congratulations is also in order for Dr. MaryLynn West-Moynes, President and CEO of Georgian College, who was confirmed as the 2017 Treasurer.

The 2017 AGM follows a big six months for SWIFT, as the organization began work in making broadband for everyone a reality following the July 2016 funding announcement from the governments of Canada and Ontario of their $180 million combined investment in the project.

Additional Board selections include: Bev MacDougall, Councillor at the County of Lambton, who was confirmed as Vice Chair and Bill Van Wyck, President of The W. R. Van Wyck Group Limited, who was confirmed as Secretary.

The following representatives were confirmed as Directors:

  • Mitch Twolan – Warden, Bruce County
  • Randy Hope – Mayor, Chatham-Kent
  • George Bridge – Councillor, Wellington County
  • Jim Maudsley – Councillor, Middlesex County
  • Roger Watt – Councillor, Huron County
  • David Mayberry – Warden, Oxford County
  • Allan Thompson – Mayor, Town of Caledon
  • April Jeffs – Mayor of Wainfleet and Regional Councillor, Niagara Region
  • Chief Greg Peters – Delaware Nation at Moraviantown
  • Stephen Young – Manager, Information Technology Services, Thames Valley District School Board
  • Brent Royce – Director (Huron & Perth), Ontario Federation of Agriculture

"I'm honoured to serve as Chair for 2017 and work with such a broad range of talented individuals as we put the foundations in place to bring ultra-high speed Internet connectivity to Simcoe County and our entire network of regional partners over the coming years," said Warden Gerry Marshall. "I'm extremely pleased to welcome another local voice to the table in Dr. MaryLynn West-Moynes, who will be a vital local asset in bringing ultra-high speed Internet connectivity to our communities."

At the regular board meeting that followed the AGM, board members received updates from staff that pointed to an exceptionally busy first year in full operation. From hiring full-time staff to developing comprehensive stakeholder engagement and membership acquisition strategies, the organization is moving confidently toward launching the first stage in the procurement process for the network, with a two-stage Request for Pre-Qualification for service providers anticipated to launch mid-May, 2017.

The SWIFT Initiative is based on the principle that everyone in Western Ontario deserves access to high-speed Internet, regardless of the size of their community, their age, education, or where they work. SWIFT will build an affordable, open-access, ultra-high-speed fibre-optic regional broadband network for everyone in Southwestern Ontario and Niagara Region.

County of Simcoe is composed of sixteen member municipalities and provides crucial public services to County residents in addition to providing paramedic and social services to the separated cities of Barrie and Orillia. Visit our website at

- 30 -

For more information about the SWIFT initiative, please visit

To speak with Warden Gerry Marshall, please contact:

Allan Greenwood
Director, Corporate Communications 
705-726-9300 ext. 1230
705-794-9301 (mobile)

Collin Matanowitsch
Communications Co-ordinator
705-726-9300 ext. 1430
705-734-8386 (mobile)